Hubig’s Pies: A New Orleans Institution Since 1922By
We were saddened when we learned about the five-alarm fire that destroyed the Hubig’s Pies factory in the Faubourg Marigny this morning. The facility at 2417 Dauphine Street that churned out 28,000 pies per day in 2011 dates back to 1922 and it contributed to the character of Faubourg Marigny.
A wonderful example of a long-running, locally-owned small business beloved by New Orleanians, Simon Hubig founded the pie company that bears his name nearly 100 years ago in Fort Worth, Texas. Hubig’s New Orleans location opened in 1922. During the Great Depression, Hubig was forced to close his Texas locations, but the Marigny bakery survived. Mr. Hubig’s image is memorialized in the company’s iconic logo. Hubig’s current owners, the Bowman and Ramsey families, have owned and operated the company for two generations.
Not to be defeated by the fire, Andrew Ramsey promised the New Orleans institution will be back. We look forward to the day we can feast on Hubig’s Pies again!
To reiterate our comments to the Associated Press this morning, kudos to the New Orleans Fire Department for containing the fire and for their diligence in protecting our historic resources.
Leave a Comment
You must be logged in to post a comment.